Understanding Alternative Gluten Terms and Ingredients, Part 2

alternative gluten terms ingredients

In part one of this two-part blog series, we went over some of the alternative terms and names you might hear gluten called by while you’re browsing product ingredient labels. Whether you’re a Celiac patient, someone with a mild gluten intolerance or simply an individual looking to lead a gluten-free lifestyle, it’s important to know common ingredients that often contain gluten even if they aren’t labeled that way – sadly, such circumstances are common.

At GF Bakers, we’re proud to offer a variety of completely gluten-free desserts, bread and other products to assist those taking on this diet. In today’s part two of our series, we’ll look at several ingredients that may or may not contain gluten, certain other products to look out for, plus the gluten-free certification you should be on the hunt for when looking for ingredients.

Ingredients That May Contain Gluten

In part one, we covered ingredients that may not contain the name gluten, but are almost certain to contain some of the element itself. Because the FDA does not require food manufacturers to declare this and other wheat-containing ingredients, there’s no real way of knowing for sure. For the following ingredients, you may have to check with the manufacturer to confirm they’re safe for a gluten-free diet:

  • Vegetable or hydrolyzed vegetable protein
  • Modified starch or food starch
  • Various artificial or natural flavors
  • Caramel coloring (usually safe, but worth checking anyway)
  • Hydrolyzed plant or vegetable protein
  • Modified food starch
  • Various seasonings or flavorings that may contain wheat fillers
  • Vegetable starch containing wheat fillers
  • Dextrin or maltodextrin

Other Manufactured Products

There are other manufactured products you will commonly find on the market that may not be made from wheat – but again, you might have to confirm this with the manufacturer. These include:

  • Vitamin E (sometimes made from wheat germ)
  • Glucose (a sugar often derived from wheat)
  • Natural flavors like barley

Gluten-Free Certification

For those with Celiac disease or a gluten intolerance, cross-contamination of gluten is often a real concern even if you purchase foods without any gluten ingredients. This makes food labels especially important.

As of 2013, the FDA requires manufacturers claiming “gluten-free” on their labels to ensure no higher than 20 parts per million (ppm) of gluten – but some don’t consider this strict enough. Other countries use a standard as low as 5 ppm. Even within the US, there are a variety of certifications and organizations claiming to offer them, each with their own standards.

This reality makes what we’ve discussed in this series all the more important. A true knowledge of gluten-free ingredients and products is highly valuable in a world where you can’t be sure how legitimate packaging claims are.

For more on understanding alternative gluten terms and product ingredient labels, or to learn about any of our gluten-free products, speak to the staff at GF Bakers today.

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »